InVESTments in Knitting…

So, I am working my way through the second level of the Master Hand Knitter program offered by The Knitting Guild Association.  It is rigorous, to be sure, but it is also supremely enjoyable.  I have begun to notice how much I enjoy figuring out ways to accomplish my knitting goals, while still maintaining a firm grasp on the critical importance of craftsmanship.  Having come from a fine arts background, and having focused on the creation of abstract stuff (much of which caused friends and family to scratch their heads and then turn to deliver to me a quizzical look accompanied by a dense and rather uncomfortable silence), I realize the need for craftsmanship in every pursuit.  However, I notice in knitting – as in many other things – the need for hey-look-at-what-I-just-did accolades runs rampant.  It certainly has run rampant in my work at times, but I think the Master Hand Knitter program has really caused me to look at finishing work as just part of the overall process of creating a garment.  No longer do I view the weaving of yarn tails, and the proper sewing of seams as the devil’s work.  Now it’s just part and parcel of creating work using two sticks and some wooly yarn.

As part of the Master Hand Knitter’s level 2 work, knitters are asked to select a vest pattern and knit it.  I did that.  I was thrilled with the stipey green and blueness of the vest I created until I realized the armholes might threaten the blood supply to my model’s hands were he to wear it for too long.  My model happens to be my teenaged son – and while he is the epitome of awesomeness in my eyes, he is still a teenager who has to be allowed to roam our house without his limbs being unnecessarily bound by a wreck of a vest knitted with love (and wine) by his dear old mother.

That first vest, which also had issues including a gaping hole just at the very crux of the V at the base of the V-neck, will be kept and displayed.  After all, even I was able to put it on.  But the thing won’t be worn.  It’ll be a teaching tool.  A reminder that sometimes you screw up after a ton of work.  I guess the bottom line is that life often includes intersections with two signs:  Quit here and submit to my power, bitch…   and, the other sign:  Don’t fucking give up…

I chose the second of the two options.  And put my feet up…

IMG_3269

Now, I find myself with the makings of a second vest.  I’ve knitted the front and back.  I’ve sewn the pieces together at the shoulders.  I’m now preparing to do the ribbing work around the neck.

Suffice it to say I’m a little bit tenacious.  Like a pit bull.  Or, as some of my county kin would say….like a hair in a biscuit.

Here are the pics…

The green and blue vest was the first of the two…

IMG_3111IMG_3136 IMG_3202 (1)

Never let it be said that teenagers can’t be super helpful and awesome – my teen guy was willing to put on that first vest at the risk of losing blood flow to his fingers…

IMG_3229

 

Second vest:  A few yarn tails.  Just a few…

IMG_3264

BLOCK PARTY!!!

IMG_3295

Leave a Reply

