What I Am is What I Am…

Back in college – yes, this will TOTALLY date me – I listened to Edie Brickell (and the New Bohemians).  I seriously wondered if dogs could smile.  And I wasn’t aware of too many things, although like any college freshman, I am sure I thought I was aware of EVrything.

I recently dove full bore into my knitting, having made my way there after more than a decade of work as a visual artist.  It’s not that I’ve abandoned my art – it’s just that I was ready to claw my way through new challenges.

Today, I found my artwork hollering to me from across the creek of life while I was trying to pick colors for an argyle sock project for the Master Hand Knitter program.  I ended up selecting one of my paintings – here it is unencumbered by little jpegs of balls of yarn:

22_LadianneHenderson_TheOldSchoolHouse.jpg

The painting is oil on panel, and it depicts a schoolhouse in Montana that one of my family members actually matriculated from.  I decided to match the colors of the painting as best I could with Cascade’s Heritage sock yarn from JimmyBeans.com.  Here’s what I came up with:

The top image shows the sock yarns I have selected – and the bottom image shows the black and white version of the picture and the yarns.  This lets me look at the range of values I have picked, to make sure the socks don’t appear ‘flat’ from having too many colors in the same value area on the scale.  I picked six colors because I am not sure which of the browns I’ll go with just yet.

At any rate, the art (and knitting) adventure continues…  Guess once you’re an artist you remain one for life.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

