Dragons and The Study Of Light and Dark

IMG_0489

I was trying to figure out what my next exercise would be, and in doing so came across a fairy tale by Andrew Long, a Scottish writer.  His tale, The Flower Queen’s Daughter, caught my attention for the idea that the queen’s daughter was being guarded by a dragon.  I thought it would be interesting to work through light and shadow using this image.  So…

IMG_0490

I used the dragon as a place to play with blue-tinged shadows.  I found the result on the head to be particularly fun.  I used a good bit (or…well…a TON…) of blooming in the watercolor work on this piece.  Check out the bottom of the dragon:

IMG_0491

 

I am enjoying doing these most recent works I’ve posted with watercolor pencil and pen/ink.  I just love the unruly nature of the watercolor.  And with this work, the subtlety of the light/shadow on the dragon.

Leave a Reply

