Old School Parenting…?

IMG_0484I decided to work on an illustration that offered the opportunity to capture a flurry of movement.  In hunting for inspiration I started digging through obscure fairy tales and folk tales.  When I came across the Grimms tale of The Seven Ravens, I knew that would be the one for this exercise.  Here’s a link to the story.

I fixated on the portion of the story just when the brothers are turned into ravens by their father, the king, who is frustrated with them for not doing exactly as he asked.  I mean, seriously – what parent hasn’t felt frustrated when their kids flat out ignored what they asked?  I have to say though, I’ve NEVER had the experience of seeing my two kids turn into birds.  Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

