The Studies: Victoria Harbour circa 1990

My father was a captain in the U.S. Navy.  As a result, we moved very frequently.  My parents were stationed in Yokosuka, Japan, for a time.  During that period I was a college student at James Madison University in Virginia.  During breaks from school I would travel to Yokosuka.  When my father’s ship came back from the second Gulf War, my mother and I traveled from Japan to Hong Kong to greet the ship.  This image was painted yesterday from a snapshot I just recently found in my photo albums from that time frame.  I remember standing in a high rise building in Hong Kong, looking out the window.  My instamatic camera was held to my wrist by a tiny cord.  I thought the scene was absolutely captivating.  I’d never seen anything like it in my life.  Hong Kong was this wild tangle of people and business and traffic and history and modernity.  I snapped the photo, no idea that sometime in the future I would be recalling that trip in this way.

This work is 8.5″ x 11″ roughly. The sketch is pencil on acid free paper.

Victoria Harbour - Snapshot and sketch Victoria Harbour:  enlarged inspiration photo and work in progress Victoria Harbour around 1990

Leave a Reply

